Honesty. Independency. Productivity. And a Multi-Billion Dollar Industry

“Music entertains us, gets our feet tapping on the floor, or provokes wild dancing, hands over our heads, not caring what anyone things. Music soothes us, lulls and comforts. And then there’s the perfect song – the one in which the artist says exactly what you need to hear at a specific moment in your life.”

12134567i

Choosing an artist for this weeks’ post was somewhat tedious but a welcomed break from last weeks’ more emotionally draining subject matter. After reading the essay “Don’t Stop Believing” and learning more about how the recording/music industry works in the big scheme of things, I was absolutely fascinated by the idea that artists should be assessed by honesty, independency, and productivity. After discovering these standards at which to discuss and judge artists on, I decided I wanted to set out to find an artist that I believed met all three standards. One of the artists I came across that I feel meets these standards is Meghan Trainor. She was extremely young when she started her career in music and produced three albums independently before signing with a large record label. From my view, I feel that she is very honest; she writes and sings about real life situations that a lot of people do not have the guts to talk about in mainstream pop culture. One of the most well-known things that she actively promotes is body positivity. In fact, she has been a huge influence in the body positivity movement; especially for women and girls. Of course, Trainor has her critics just like any other well-known artist that actively submits themselves to the line of fire. Some people believe that her music promotes “obesity” (I won’t even touch on how untrue/unfair I feel this is because we would be here for days) and that her lyrics are offensive as well as damaging to young women. Personally I feel that this is the farthest thing from the truth; and hundreds of thousands of fans agree with my stance. She is an extremely empowering individual with a lot of talent.

meghan-trainor-red-portrait-2015-billboard-650

Some related tidbits that I feel add to the conversation:

→On what music does for us as individuals…
“It really shaped my consciousness and it made me think beyond my immediate borders and so I went into it believing that music is a way to express one’s self,” Michael Franti♥

MyfreeMP33

→On how record companies influence artists and their content…
“Though the commercial nature of music and the influence of corporate record labels may challenge the independence of recording artists and their music, many musicians prove that they don’t have to compromise their art.”♥

Music-equipment

→On how music has the power to make us feel things…
“It is no wonder that kids are growing up more cynical; they have a lot of information in front of them,” Manson writes. “Sometimes music, movies and books are the only things that let us feel like someone else feels like we do.”♥

1-1

→But also, in the end, does not have ultimate control…
“Music is not a drug that incapacitates the listener and produces a predictable result,” Linton writes. “A whole lifetime spent listening to Bach will not automatically make a woman love God. And — despite the warning of two generations of moralists — a lifetime listening to the Rolling Stones will not make a man fornicate.”♥

music_by_enchantedhearts88-d4p0ea2

2 thoughts on “Honesty. Independency. Productivity. And a Multi-Billion Dollar Industry

  1. Hi Jordan! I have not spent a lot of time listening to Meghan Trainor, but I have heard a few songs on the radio and from what I have heard she seems like a great model for body positivity! I am personally not a fsn of her style of music, but I can appreciate the good she does. I also really like how you set up your blog post, it was very interesting to read and I really liked how you laid out the quotes. Thanks for a great post!

    Like

  2. Now I’m feeling bad about last week’s emotionally taxing assignment. Apologies! At the same time, I’m satisfied over the work and thinking that many students put into that lesson.
    Nice post this week, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

